“Oh, You’re That kind of reader” Huh?!?!

One of my favorite ways to relax is to go to my favorite Tim Horton’s coffee shop sit, drink coffee, and read. I do it before work to get my mind revved for the day. I do it on my days off to explore another “world”. I just mind my own business, stick my face in my book and read. For me, it’s that simple. For others, it’s not, I guess.

I have learned to live with the cranky old man that has to go table to table and try to engage people in conversation about his bitch-du-jour from the local paper. I can ignore the attention-seeking lady that has to make sure everyone knows that she “needs” help getting her order to her table. But, a couple of days ago, as I was quietly reading, I experienced a first. Here’s how the conversation went (roughly):

Random Person: “Hey, I love Stephen King.”

Me: “Hi, me too.”

Random Person: “I have read all of the Dark Tower books a couple of times.”

Me: “I am working on catching up with them.”

Random Person: “Didn’t you love when…[insert random scene from “The Gunslinger”]

Me: “I don’t really remember. But, I am sure I enjoyed it when I read it.”

Random Person: “You don’t remember? That was the best part of the book. I can almost recite those books word for word.”

Me: “I read a lot for enjoyment. I don’t really memorize any of what I read.”

Random Person: [walking away] “Oh, you’re that kind of reader.”

I just sat there dumbstruck! What would I have said? Not that I had the opportunity. But, had she stuck around, I have no idea how I would have responded. I guess I am “that kind of reader”. I read for enjoyment. I read to relax. I read to escape the other things that occupy my mind. I read like some people play sports, go for a walk, watch movies…drink (?). Books are my drug of choice, I guess. I don’t read to memorize or analyze or criticize. I read because I enjoy the story. I like the adventure. I like to learn new things. I like my brain to be active.

So, I am “that kind of reader” and I am proud of it.

About Paul H-C

Just an avid reader in the little town of Bangor, Maine (Yes, that Bangor...home of Stephen King). When I'm not reading and drinking coffee, I sell cell phones by the sea shore.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to “Oh, You’re That kind of reader” Huh?!?!

  1. That kind of reader? Ok….but also you have a Tim Hortons in Maine?! Awesome! I actually don’t remember a lot of what I read, especially once I’ve made room in my mind for the other books I’m reading. If it’s a really good book I’ll go back and read it another time.

  2. Yep, we have several Tim Horton’s in Maine. I went to my first one years ago while promoting Maine as a tourist destination in Quebec. I really liked it. For a few years after, the only ones in Maine were a couple of hours drive away. But, THANKFULLY, we finally go them in the Bangor area. Truthfully, I am at “my” Tim Horton’s so much they know my coffee order without me asking.

  3. I guess I’m that kind of reader too! LOL

  4. MizB says:

    Apparently I’m “that kind of reader” as well! (and Hey! from Canada!) πŸ˜‰

    ~MizB

What do you think?

