Catch Up Reading Challenge – Review 2

wolves of the callaLet’s get you caught up:

Walk…walk…walk..BANG! BANG!

He’s dead. He’s alive. He dies. He’s alive.

Vicious lobsters…three doors…more walking.

Train ride…riddles…more walking. BANG! BANG! Save the worlds!!

Now that you are all caught up, let’s talk about Wolves of the Calla. 

Despite the over-simplification of the story thus far, I am really enjoying this series. So far,  Wolves of the Calla is the one that most kept me on the edge of my seat. I actually said “What the f***” aloud when I got to the last page. I had to resist the urge to immediately pick up Song of Susannah and get into the rest of the story. I’m not getting into why I said “WTF!” because it would give away one of the best parts of the book…and I want you to have your own WTF moment.

Long before I picked up The Gunslinger, I’d read complaints about Stephen King’s use of himself and other pop-culture icons in this book. I found it amusing and, as mush as it can be in a fantasy story, logical. In a story where the characters have access to any of the millions of “wheres” (i.e. parallel universes), why would one not find references to our “where”? Some times you just have to suspend your reality and immerse yourself in the author’s reality.

I also like the tie-ins to his other books. You will revisit The Stand, ‘Salem’s Lot, Insomnia, and more. There is an entire Wikipedia page and several websites devoted to these connections. So, I will leave it to those folks that like to over-analyze books to present that information to you.

I’m gonna give this volume a 4.5 out of 5. The only complaint I had was that it took a long time to get to the climax. It was an enjoyable journey, but a long one.

On to the next…

About Paul H-C

Just an avid reader in the little town of Bangor, Maine (Yes, that Bangor...home of Stephen King). When I'm not reading and drinking coffee, I sell cell phones by the sea shore.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Catch Up Reading Challenge – Review 2

  1. Pingback: WWW Wednesday (February 6) | Paul's 2013 Catch Up Reading Challenge

What do you think?

