Jumping on the “Nemo” Bandwagon.

I am sure everyone is sick of the “Nemo” news, Facebook posts, Tweets, blog posts, and the like. But, I thought, “What the heck. I’ll jump on the train and share too.” [Actually, it’s just an excuse to write about accomplishing a project I have put off for a while.] 

Snow Drifts - Blizzard "Nemo"

Bangor, Maine, USA

I was supposed to be working today. But, I work for the kind of people that won’t put their employees in danger in hopes of some minimal profit. So, I had a lazy morning watching Sons of Anarchy…and the wind creating some cool snow drifts.  None of these cars is mine. So, I can look at them and think, “Cool!” [Side note: On Thursday, all you would have seen in this picture is pavement and brown grass.]

I decided that today would be the day that I would, finally, tackle my To Be Read shelves.

My To Be Read Shelves - The "Before" picture.

My To Be Read Shelves – The “Before” picture.

I posted this picture here earlier this week. After hitting “publish”, I immediately felt regret. I wondered how many calls would be made to the producers of Hoarders. What would people think? [Normally, I am not really concerned with what people think. So, this was a weird thought for me]

About ten years ago, I got very interested in collecting sports memorabilia and had two large book cases which displayed all of this junk. I rarely went into the room where it was displayed. I didn’t follow the players any longer — most of them probably aren’t even playing now. Basically, I have moved on.

So, I put my mover hat on and emptied the shelves, dragged the bookcase into the living room and refilled the shelves with books — and my “book adaptation” DVDs. Here’s the finished project.

My To Be Read Shelves - The "After" picture.

My To Be Read Shelves – The “After” picture.

I am pretty happy with the results — and a lot less worried about what people might think.

A blizzard-bound mission accomplished!

About Paul H-C

Just an avid reader in the little town of Bangor, Maine (Yes, that Bangor...home of Stephen King). When I'm not reading and drinking coffee, I sell cell phones by the sea shore.
This entry was posted in Books, Reading Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Jumping on the “Nemo” Bandwagon.

  1. Wow! That’s quite a TBR pile! I don’t have quite as many, but I do have any book I want available at my fingertips Monday-Friday! Have fun reading!

    • I know, right? It didn’t look like nearly as much when half of the books were hidden behind the piles of others. 🙂 But, Sis, you know you’ll end up seeing most of these at some point by the end of the year.

  2. Not too tired of hearing about the snow since I am so far removed from it. 🙂

  3. Leslie says:

    It looks great!

What do you think?

