WWW Wednesdays (February 13)

W...W...W... Wednesdays

W…W…W… Wednesdays

W…W…W…Wednesdays is a weekly reading prompt hosted by MizB at Should be Reading. 

TO PLAY ALONG, JUST ANSWER THE FOLLOWING THREE (3) QUESTIONS:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll read next?

 

I am currently reading Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter by Seth Grahame-Smith. It is definitely more fun than I expected. I don’t know whether I will tackle Pride and Prejudice and Zombies but I have seen his latest, Unholy Nights, on the shelves at B&N and might give that a read.

I recently finished Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card. I really liked it. I will probably try to find a couple more in the series.

Next, I am going to tackle one of the books loaned to me by my SSBFF. M Butterfly by David Henry Hwang. I don’t think I have read a play since high school. I won’t get started on my HS reading experiences. I will just say, “Painful!”.

That’s it for this week. Stay tuned 🙂

About Paul H-C

Just an avid reader in the little town of Bangor, Maine (Yes, that Bangor...home of Stephen King). When I'm not reading and drinking coffee, I sell cell phones by the sea shore.
This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to WWW Wednesdays (February 13)

  1. My friend loved Abe Lincoln Vampire Hunter! I still haven’t read it but I saw the movie (I know, they’re not really comparable) but I really enjoyed it so the book is still on my list to read!

  2. A. says:

    Ooh I’ve wanted to read ALVH after seeing the movie! Glad to see you’re finding it enjoyable. 🙂

  3. Intrigued! I blog about books that have been or are being adapted for the screen – which all of yours have! I’ve not read M. Butterfly but I may check out the film as Hwang wrote the screenplay himself. Did you know Ender’s Game is coming out as a film in November? It stars Harrison Ford, Asa Butterfield (he was the boy in HUGO) Abigail Breslin, Viola Davis and more so I will def. be reading it before that. And lastly, my husband worked on the film version of Abraham Lincoln; Vampire Hunter. The movie bombed but it’s not awful; just not great.
    Sorry to have blathered on so but got excited!

    • Thank you for the insight. I did know that Ender’s Game was coming out as a movie this year. It was funny because I saw all this buzz about the book and then found out that it had been around since the 70’s and that my step-father had a copy. What’s that old saying? “Everything old is new again”?

      I have been enjoying Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter. The humor and historical tie-ins are fun. I have the movie in my Netflix queue to arrive after I finish the book.

      A friend of mine gave me M. Butterfly to read. She is an English education major and read it for a class. She is always suggesting things for me to read that are outside of my norm. It’s fun.

      Thanks for chatting!

  4. Irish says:

    Have you seen the movie for Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter? I’d be interested to see how the adaptation compares.

    My WWW Wednesday is here.

What do you think?

