Can I Ax You A Quession?

Can I Ax You A Question CartoonI want to ax you a quession? When did we become lazy in our use of the English language? 

I might just be a grumpy old man, but it bothered me to hear our local newscasters using lazy pronunciation during a recent broadcast. 

PEOPLE!

It’s a cute, fluffy, Kit-ten not Kih-en!

It’s very Im-por-tant not im-por-ant!

You push a but-ton not buh-en!

The word is supposedly, not supposibly!

You check books out of a LIBRARY, not a Lie-berry!

I admit that there are words that trip me up sometimes. But, there seems to be a whole generation that has just become lazy with their speech. I have people tell me every day that their buh-ins don’t work. Or they’ll come in to ax me a few quessions. I don’t know whether to scream or cry. I won’t even get started on some of the “tech talk” they screw up trying to sound more informed than they are.

Hit me up in the comments with your pronunciation pet peeve.

About Paul H-C

Just an avid reader in the little town of Bangor, Maine (Yes, that Bangor...home of Stephen King). When I'm not reading and drinking coffee, I sell cell phones by the sea shore.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Can I Ax You A Quession?

  1. kodonivan says:

    This is very true! Great post!

  2. I am an ELL and reading support teacher during the day. In my third grade reading group, I work with a small group to help them decode words. We talk about schwas, irregular spellings, irregular sight syllables, etc. It always amazes me how words get mispronounced. And how regional dialects influence pronounciation. Sometimes my instructional book will indicate a vowel is a schwa, but when we say the word (the way we pronounce it), it’s not. We were doing the word “business” the other day. Most people today pronounce it with 2 syllables, but it is actually a 3 syllable word “bus-i-ness”. And library is one of my biggest pet peeves. 🙂

  3. Paul H-C says:

    Deborah, have you seen the article about inventive spelling? (http://bookriot.com/2013/02/20/getting-on-a-soapbox-about-inventive-spelling/) I could not believe this is happening. I totally forgot about “business”. It drives me nuts to hear people say “beh-ness”. It’s not that tough, folks! LOL!

  4. I know it’s a regional thing here, but I cannot stand the mispronunciation of frustrated. It’s fRustrated, people, not fustrated! The buh-en thing bothers me too!!!

  5. One of my pet peeves is when a new newscaster comes to Maine and doesn’t bother to find out the correct pronunciation of town names. They may be different sounding but not hard to pronounce if you just try. Ask a citizen they will help you.

What do you think?

