Musing Mondays (March 4)

Musing Monday March 4 2013 Thoughts on Reading & BooksMusing Mondays (hosted by MizB at Should Be Reading) asks you to muse about one of the following each week…

• Describe one of your reading habits.
• Tell us what book(s) you recently bought for yourself or someone else, and why you chose that/those book(s).
• Tell us what you’re reading right now — what you think of it, so far; why you chose it; what you are (or, aren’t) enjoying it.
• Do you have a bookish rant? Something about books or reading (or the industry) that gets your ire up? Share it with us!

I am not very adventurous with my choice of authors. I read everything I can get my hands on from authors I enjoy and then wait (mostly impatiently) for their next book to come out. With that said, I will trust friends and family to recommend books/authors that they believe I will enjoy.

I am currently reading The Stupidest Angel by Christopher Moore. Moore’s books are a perfect example of the sentiment above. I had not heard of him before my sister recommended I read Lamb. I laughed through the whole thing and relished the irreverent — bordering on blasphemous — humor and the twisted retelling of biblical events. Afterward, I sought out as many of his books as I could get my warped little paws on. The Stupidest Angel is the last one I have to read, for now. I hope a new one comes out soon.

Until then, I have plenty of other authors to catch up with. So, back to the books!! You, too! Get back to reading!

About Paul H-C

Just an avid reader in the little town of Bangor, Maine (Yes, that Bangor...home of Stephen King). When I'm not reading and drinking coffee, I sell cell phones by the sea shore.
This entry was posted in Books, Reading Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Musing Mondays (March 4)

  1. Interesting how we are all so different as readers. I’m fairly adventurous as far as reading various authors. I have a very few favourites but the rest is mostly just if I like the sound of the book despite who the author is. Here’s one I’m reading currently which is my first by this author: http://daystarz.wordpress.com/2013/03/04/musing-mondays-mar-4/

    • Paul H-C says:

      It certainly takes all kinds. 🙂 Thankfully, there are readers like you to recommend good stuff to readers like me. I will often take the plunge based on recommendations from trusted readers. But, it takes a really compelling cover or back cover blurb to make the leap to a new author or genre.

  2. Pingback: Musing Mondays (March 11) | Paul's 2013 Catch Up Reading Challenge

What do you think?

