Musing Mondays (March 11)

Musing Monday March 11 2013 Thoughts on Reading & BooksMusing Mondays (hosted by MizB at Should Be Reading) asks you to muse about one of the following each week…

• Describe one of your reading habits.
• Tell us what book(s) you recently bought for yourself or someone else, and why you chose that/those book(s).
• Tell us what you’re reading right now — what you think of it, so far; why you chose it; what you are (or, aren’t) enjoying it.
• Do you have a bookish rant? Something about books or reading (or the industry) that gets your ire up? Share it with us!

This past Saturday, my Mom and I took a short road trip to our state’s Capital to visit Barnes & Noble. Why? Well, because it’s there – duh!?! We both needed to get out of town to “get the stink blown off” (a saying of my grandmother’s that I still love) and we had both received email coupons from B&N.

On the way down, I got to thinking about my post last Monday and how I should be a little more adventurous with my book choices. So, I picked up The Heart and The Fist:The Education of a Humanitarian, the Making of a Navy Seal by Eric Greitens. The Heart and The Fist: The Education of a Humanitarian, The Making of a Navy Seal

“The Heart and the Fist: The Education of a Humanitarian, the Making of a Navy SEAL shares one man’s story of extraordinary leadership and service as both a humanitarian and a warrior. In a life lived at the raw edges of the human experience, Eric Greitens has seen what can be accomplished when compassion and courage come together in meaningful service.” [From Eric Greitens website]

Had I only judged this book by it’s cover, I never would have given it a second look. I am, somewhat, a history buff. But, I really only enjoy reading about events pre-1950’s. My little bird chirped (come on…you know you have a little bird too!) and reminded me to step outside my literature cage and try something new. So, I picked it up.

In the interest of full disclosure, I freely admit that: 1) it was on the bargain table for $4.98 and that made the decision a bit easier; 2) the quote by Tom Brokaw on the cover swayed my thinking a bit because I really, really like The Greatest Generation; and 3) I also bought two books by authors I know I enjoy.

Baby steps, right?? LOL!

About Paul H-C

Just an avid reader in the little town of Bangor, Maine (Yes, that Bangor...home of Stephen King). When I'm not reading and drinking coffee, I sell cell phones by the sea shore.
This entry was posted in blogging., Books, Reading Challenge and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Musing Mondays (March 11)

  1. Always easier to step out of my comfort zone when it’s a bargain. Here’s my MM: http://daystarz.wordpress.com/2013/03/12/musing-mondays-mar-11/

What do you think?

