Catch Up Reading Challenge – Review 6

Dolores Claiborne - Catch Up Reading Challenge Review 6“I have digged a pit for mine enemies, and am fallen into it myself” – Dolores Claiborne paraphrasing from Psalm 57:6.

I have never doubted the lengths to which my female friends say they would go to protect their children. I see this as the central theme for Dolores Claiborne by Stephen King.

I had always made the assumption that this was simply a book about abuse toward women — something I have no stomach for and didn’t really have an interest in reading a whole book about. I wasn’t entirely wrong. However, after reading it, I realized that Dolores’ motivations were not really self-preservation, rather it was the protection of her children that drove her to kill her husband.

There were a few things that made this book stand out.

The first was the absence of chapters. The book is one long afternoon/evening in which Dolores admits her guilt in one killing and explains her innocence in another. Having read A LOT of Stephen King books, I knew that he would either have epically long, or amazingly short, chapters. I started the book late one evening and flipped ahead to see how far I would have to read to get to the end of chapter 1. I did it 2 or 3 times before I realized that there were NO chapters at all. It was a little weird.

The second was that the book wasn’t completely about spousal abuse and the amount of time spent on it was very short. As stated above, I had avoided this book because I thought it was going to be 300+ pages of something I have no tolerance for. I was pleased to find that it was truly a story about a mother’s love for her children.

Finally, I was pleasantly surprised by the tie in to another of King’s novels, Gerald’s Game. Had I read the two back to back, I might have made the connection. However, it’s been several years since I read Gerald’s Game. Had the introduction not connected the two novels. I probably would have missed it completely.

Before I end with the updated Catch Up Reading Challenge list, I will share my favorite Dolores quote:

“There’s no bitch on earth like a mother frightened for her kids.”

Here is an updated list of books I will be reading for the 2013 Catch Up Reading Challenge:

  1. Wizard & Glass: The Dark Tower IV by Stephen King
  2. Wolves of the Calla: The Dark Tower V by Stephen King
  3. The Song of Susannah: The Dark Tower VI by Stephen King
  4. The Dark Tower: The Dark Tower VII by Stephen King
  5. The Wind Through the Keyhole by Stephen King
  6. Carrie by Stephen King
  7. Cycle of the Werewolf by Stephen King
  8. Doctor Sleep by Stephen King (due to be published in 2013)
  9. Dolores Claiborne by Stephen King
  10. Joyland by Stephen King (due to be published in 2013)
  11. The Stupidest Angel: A Heartwarming Tale of Christmas Terror by Christopher Moore
  12. Practical Demonkeeping by Christopher Moore
About Paul H-C

Just an avid reader in the little town of Bangor, Maine (Yes, that Bangor...home of Stephen King). When I'm not reading and drinking coffee, I sell cell phones by the sea shore.
This entry was posted in Books, family, Mom, pain, Reading Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Catch Up Reading Challenge – Review 6

  1. Pingback: WWW Wednesday (March 20) | Paul's 2013 Catch Up Reading Challenge

What do you think?

