Musing Monday – Bookmarks & Book Marks

For this week’s Musing Monday, I am going low-tech with a concept that I saw several vloggers do over the past few weeks. You can watch one of my favorite vloggers here. In these posts, they answer the questions below.

Questions:
1. What are you currently using as a bookmark?

I have, as mentioned in a previous post, a number of bookmarks that were hand-crafted by my sister. I am currently using this one:Image

2. Best thing you’ve ever used as a bookmark?

One of my sister’s handmade bookmarks. I used it for all of the books I read last year and it stood up to 365 days of abuse, like a champ!

3. Weirdest thing?

A laminated 100 peseta note that I had left over from a trip to Spain.

4. Do you ever annotate/highlight/write in books? Why or why not?

It is very rare for me to mark up my books. Ones that I read for pleasure, I never, ever write in. Books that I read for work or studies, I will write in if necessary.

5. Share something you’ve found written in a library book/used book/book that didn’t belong to you.

I borrowed a couple of graphic novels from my local library for last year’s 50 Book Challenge and one of them had “perceived inconsistencies” [the defacers phrase, not mine] between volume 1 and volume 2. These things included hair styles, background items changing, etc. Things no normal person would have noticed. Some people have too much time on their hands.

6. What books are in your collection by someone named Mark?

I was really surprised to find that I only had 2 books from someone named Mark on my TBR shelves. I found:

The Bone Parade by Mark Nykanen

The Bone Parade

 

 

 

And…

Life on the Mississippi by Mark Twain.

Life On the Mississippi

 

 

 

It seems like all of the videos I watched for this “tagging” had at least one book by Twain. I am glad I am no different.

7. What book has made the biggest mark on your life? (Figuratively)

I am going to have to say “Redwall” by Brian Jacques. The reason I chose this is because it was the first book (series of books) that kick-started my reading “obsession”. Thanks, SiKa Tattoos!

8. Which book has made the biggest mark on your life? (Literally — do you have any literary-related tattoos? If not, and if you had to get one, what would you get?)

I have the symbol for “Ka” from Stephen King’s The Dark Tower series.

9. Which book(s) has/have had the biggest impact on your generation in your opinion?

This is the toughest one for me. Unlike the majority of the vloggers that I watched, I am not a 20-something that grew up with Harry Potter. I was 30 when Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone came out. I agree that that series would be the books that had the greatest impact on their generation. However, I am old enough to have fathered most of them. A case could be made for these books having a similar impact on my generation, as I know just as many people of my generation that have read Rowling’s books…either for themselves or to their children. This series certainly did put YA books on the radar of many 40-somethings I know.

I grew up hearing about people reading The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance, and the books of Shel Silverstein, Stephen King, Kurt Vonnegurt, and the like.  I grew up with The Hardy Boys and Encyclopedia Brown. Maybe that’s where I developed my love of the quick, fun mysteries I read now.

About Paul H-C

Just an avid reader in the little town of Bangor, Maine (Yes, that Bangor...home of Stephen King). When I'm not reading and drinking coffee, I sell cell phones by the sea shore.
This entry was posted in Books, Reading Challenge, tattoo, tattoos and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

