Musing Monday – Damned Deckle Edge

Musing Monday May 20The damned Deckle Edge! UGH!!

I don’t know why, really, but I hate books with this style of page. That jagged, uneven, scabrous, craggy, unsmooth, abomination. It’s just plain ugly and dangerous…dangerous, I tell you.

Why rant about this now?

Excellent question!

I have been anxiously awaiting the release of Joe Hill’s NOS4A2 and was overjoyed to see a large display right in the front entrance of my local bookstore. I snatched up a copy, ready to slap down the ole debit card and then I saw it! The Deckle Edge!!

“NOOOOOOOO!!!!!”, I screamed internally! I placed the book back on the display, as my lament echoed in my, mostly empty, cranium. I cursed my weirdness and resigned myself to waiting for the paperback to be released.

I know I am strange. I embrace my little quirks. But, I normally have mostly-sane reasons for my minor idiosyncrasies. Here are my top 3 against Deckle Edges:

1) They are ugly! See for yourself…

Deckle Edge

How can you disagree? I mean, I respect your right to do so. But, look at it…really look at it and compare it to the nice, clean line of a normal edge.

2) It makes it difficult to turn the pages, especially with one hand. And, finally…

3) Those edges are dangerous! They will CUT you! And not a nice smooth cut, either. It’ll be a nasty paper cut…the mother of all paper cuts. Those edges could cost you an entire limb!

Okay…okay…so maybe that last point is a teeny, tiny exaggeration. But, don’t say I didn’t warn you.

So, Joe…see you in paperback! I can’t wait.

About Paul H-C

Just an avid reader in the little town of Bangor, Maine (Yes, that Bangor...home of Stephen King). When I'm not reading and drinking coffee, I sell cell phones by the sea shore.
This entry was posted in Books, Reading Challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

