Musing Mondays (June 10)

Musing Monday June 10I ran across the following question while playing on the web and thought it would be fun to answer the questions here.

Reading is more than a way to pass the time: it’s a form of escape, it’s a way to relax, it’s a means for educating oneself. Take a look at your bookshelves. Are most of the books fiction, or non-fiction? Are you looking more to entertain yourself with your reading, or to inform yourself? Has that balance shifted over the years?

Here goes…

Most of the books on my shelves are fiction. Although I am interested in history, I mostly read to escape reality. I find that living in the made-up worlds created by talented authors gives me the mental break I need. I do enjoy the occasional history book. I find myself attracted to books centering on people in history, for example, Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand or The Liberator by Alex Kershaw. How seemingly ordinary people do extraordinary things in the context of amazing periods in our history. But, for me to like them, books in the history genre have to read like a story, not a textbook.

Although I read a variety of genres, I avoid the “self-help” books like they are covered in Ricin. This goes comes from two of my beliefs. (1) Be happy where you are! (2) Not everything needs improving. If you are doing good and not hurting yourself or anyone else, be happy! Just because you aren’t doing things the way some psycho-babbler thinks you should, doesn’t mean that YOU need improving. Anyyyyway! That’s just me, if you enjoy ’em, read ’em.

I love my reading time. Early mornings at my “second home” (a.k.a. Tim Hortons) with my coffee and my current book is my favorite time of the day. I can get “inside” the book, hang out with the characters, share their adventures, and get my mind piqued for the day.

I am not a total recluse. Time spent with family and friends makes me happy as well. But, as much time as I spend with the public, a few hours with “people” that don’t want anything from me is just what the doctor ordered. Hmm…Maybe I’ll write a self-help book about that.

About Paul H-C

Just an avid reader in the little town of Bangor, Maine (Yes, that Bangor...home of Stephen King). When I'm not reading and drinking coffee, I sell cell phones by the sea shore.
This entry was posted in Books, Reading Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

