Musing Monday (July 22)

Musing Monday (July 22)There are a couple of things on my mind this week. The first is a cartoon that is circulating on Facebook, I’ll share it with you below.

The second is an amazing Amazon delivery.

The cartoon below is both amusing and sadly true to life.

What is it?

Between their DS-whatevers & i-thingies, I am not particularly surprised that kids aren’t reading like they used to. I asked one of my customer’s pre-teens what they liked to read and the response was, “Ummm…facebook stuff.” I kid you NOT! While my mind screamed “WHAT?!?!?”, I held my composure and replied, “What about books?” to which I got, “They make us read some in school. They’re stupid.”

I know every kid is different and there are lots that read real, live books. But, it is a bit depressing to think about the fact that kids are losing appreciation for books.

End of rant.

Now, for the good news!

This week I got a big ‘ole box from Amazon. In it was the first 3 books in the Maze Runner series by James Dashner. I freely admit that this represents complete lack of impulse control. A customer recommended it, I one-clicked it, the USPS delivered it. End of story. 

I’ve started the first book but, I am not far enough in to form an opinion. So far…so good, though.

Have a great week, all!!

Musing Mondays (hosted by MizB at Should Be Reading) asks you to muse about one of the following each week…

• Describe one of your reading habits.
• Tell us what book(s) you recently bought for yourself or someone else, and why you chose that/those book(s).
• Tell us what you’re reading right now — what you think of it, so far; why you chose it; what you are (or, aren’t) enjoying it.
• Do you have a bookish rant? Something about books or reading (or the industry) that gets your ire up? Share it with us!

About Paul H-C

Just an avid reader in the little town of Bangor, Maine (Yes, that Bangor...home of Stephen King). When I'm not reading and drinking coffee, I sell cell phones by the sea shore.
This entry was posted in Books, Reading, Reading Challenge and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?