WWW Wednesday (September 4)

WWW Wednesday (September 4)A disappointing prequel and intriguing biography filling out this week’s WWW Wednesday.

W…W…W…Wednesdays is a weekly reading prompt hosted by MizB at Should be Reading. 

TO PLAY ALONG, JUST ANSWER THE FOLLOWING THREE (3) QUESTIONS:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll read next?

I am currently reading The Perfect Nazi by Martin Davidson. The story of how Davidson began digging into his grandfather’s past is interesting. He discusses it in the prologue to the book, so I won’t do it ( a huge injustice) here. He weaves the story of his grandfather’s life with the history of the time in a way that makes it simple to understand. I am only about 80 pages in, but I am really enjoying it.

I finished The Kill Order by James Dashner. This is the prequel to the Maze Runner trilogy and, in my humble opinion, one that was kind of disappointing. The story itself was well-crafted and fast-paced. But, I was anticipating some better answers as to how Thomas and Theresa knew each other and worked together for WICKED. Instead, Dashner tells us how the Flare started and spread. It was a fun read. All I can hope is that he will write a second prequel (if there is such a thing) that fills in a few more gaps.

The “What I am going to read next” is always the hardest part of these posts. My mom has been reading the Inspector Gamache series by Louise Penny. She gave me the first two books a week or two ago. This morning I was checking out Twitter and saw that one of the book-folk I follow, Bookavore, posted this link to her Tumblr account. I think it is some kind of sign. So, Still Life, the first book of the series, might just be my next.

Have a great week!

About Paul H-C

Just an avid reader in the little town of Bangor, Maine (Yes, that Bangor...home of Stephen King). When I'm not reading and drinking coffee, I sell cell phones by the sea shore.
This entry was posted in blogging., Books, Reading, Reading Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to WWW Wednesday (September 4)

  1. Diane says:

    I think you’ll really enjoy Still Life!

What do you think?

