WWW Wednesday & Neil Gaiman: Why our future depends on libraries, reading and daydreaming

WWW Wednesday October 16Tom Cruise as a 6′ 5″ ex-army badass? Now that I am reading the first Jack Reacher book, I am scratching my head at that casting choice. I guess sometimes it really is all about the ratings.

W…W…W…Wednesdays is a weekly reading prompt hosted by MizB at Should be Reading. 

TO PLAY ALONG, JUST ANSWER THE FOLLOWING THREE (3) QUESTIONS:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll read next?

I am currently reading Killing Floor by Lee Child. It is the first Jack Reacher novel. The more I read, the more I like the Reacher character. In the beginning, I thought that the character was gonna be very stereotypical. I am not completely wrong. But, the stuff with his brother really made me like him. I’m looking forward to reading more.

Since last week, I finished the Dark Man by Stephen King. It is a poem that he wrote while in college and was the basis for the Randall Flagg character in The Stand…and the man in the tower in the Dark Tower series. The pen and ink illustrations are wonderfully morbid and the perfect backdrop for the poem. It, also, was kind of neat that the illustrator is from Maine, as well.

I am thinking that I will get caught up with Virgil Flowers next. He is the main character in a spin-off series from John Sandford’s Davenport novels. I like Sandford’s writing style and the books fly right along. I have both Bad Blood and Mad River on the TBR shelves. So, I will pick up the next in the series…I’m just not sure which of the two it is right now and I am being too lazy to look it up. 😉

This week, I also want to share this link to an article by Neil Gaiman in The Guardian. Honestly, I have not read any of his books. I listened to Anansi Boys via Overdrive for last year’s 50 Books Challenge. But, I really like his social media presence and appreciate the sentiment in this speech. Please take time to read it. It’s wonderful. Thank you!

 http://www.theguardian.com/books/2013/oct/15/neil-gaiman-future-libraries-reading-daydreaming?CMP=twt_gu

About Paul H-C

Just an avid reader in the little town of Bangor, Maine (Yes, that Bangor...home of Stephen King). When I'm not reading and drinking coffee, I sell cell phones by the sea shore.
This entry was posted in blogging., Books, family, Reading, Reading Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to WWW Wednesday & Neil Gaiman: Why our future depends on libraries, reading and daydreaming

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Enjoy your reads. I think the ones you chose are a bit to scary for me. 🙂

    Have a good rest of the week.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My W…W…W…

  2. I have been so busy lately that I have barely cracked a book!

What do you think?

