WWW Wednesday (October 23)

WWW Wednesday October 23What is keeping my eyes sharp and my brain exercised and a look at my new favorite podcast! All in this week’s WWW Wednesday!

W…W…W…Wednesdays is a weekly reading prompt hosted by MizB at Should be Reading. 

TO PLAY ALONG, JUST ANSWER THE FOLLOWING THREE (3) QUESTIONS:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll read next?

I am currently reading Handling the Undead by John Ajvide Lindqvist. One of my favorite books from the 2011 50 Book Challenge was Lindqvist’s Let the Right One In, the story about a young vampire and the friendship he develops with a neighbor girl. It wasn’t your typical vampire story.

In Handling the Undead, Lindqvist takes on zombies. I was happy to discover that this book was written in 2005, before the zombie craze was in full swing. Don’t get me wrong, I am a Walking Dead fan. But, It seems like we go through cycles where every other book you see is about Vampires/Zombies/Wizards/etc. I found this book almost buried in the horror section of B&N. The author happened to catch my eye and I was happy to find another of his books.

I am only 40 or so pages in, but it is holding my attention so far.

I recently finished Bad Blood by John Sandford. I went through a phase where I read every of Sandford’s Lucas Davenport books one after another. Eventually, I got to the point where I had to wait for the next one to be published and I lost track. In the mean time, he spun the Virgil Flowers character off into a new series. I burned through the first 2 or 3 of those right away, as well. Now I am playing catch up.

Bad Blood has Flowers investigating murders in a farming community in Minnesota. I will warn you that it is not for the weak-stomached. The reason for the murders, without spoiling anything, involves some taboo sexual subjects (I will note that there are no graphic descriptions). With that said, it is typical Sandford. Fast paced, ass-kicking and full of twists.

I am not sure what I will be reading next. I might grab the next Jack Reacher novel. I might go out and get the next Virgil Flowers adventure. Or, I might grab one of the few historical non-fiction books I have on the TBR shelf. I will let you know next week.

I wanted to end this post by sharing my new favorite podcast.

BookRiot Podcast

Jeff O’Neal (On Twitter as @readingape) and Rebecca Schinski (On Twitter as @RebeccaSchinski) of BookRiot.com produce a weekly podcast about books, reading and interesting things that happen in the publishing/literary world. They have done 24 episodes, each better than the last. You can tell by how casually they interact that they are having fun with a subject they love. Honestly, my favorite thing about Jeff, Rebecca and their podcast is that they are not book snobs! They talk about books of all types and never give the impression that if you aren’t reading the latest in High Literature you are doing it wrong.

You can access the podcast via iTunes, the Android app, or directly from the website. Trust me on this one, If you’re a reader, you’ll never walk away thinking, “Well, that’s ___ minutes of my life I’ll never get back!”

Have a great week!

About Paul H-C

Just an avid reader in the little town of Bangor, Maine (Yes, that Bangor...home of Stephen King). When I'm not reading and drinking coffee, I sell cell phones by the sea shore.
This entry was posted in blogging., Books, Reading, Reading Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to WWW Wednesday (October 23)

  1. Elizabeth says:

    ENJOY your reads.

    I haven’t heard of any of these books.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My W…W…W…

  2. Enjoy your books! 🙂
    Here is my WWW – http://wp.me/p2Aqoq-fD

What do you think?

