WWW Wednesday (October 30)

WWW Wednesday October 30You just experienced the loss of a loved one. You are working through the grieving process. The loss, the sadness, the anger and then…

W…W…W…Wednesdays is a weekly reading prompt hosted by MizB at Should be Reading. 

TO PLAY ALONG, JUST ANSWER THE FOLLOWING THREE (3) QUESTIONS:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll read next?

I am just starting Allegiant by Veronica Roth. As you may or may not know, it is the 3rd book in the Divergent trilogy. I have been avoiding the reviews, tweets, etc. like they are the plague. I have seen some grumbling about this book. But, I want to judge it on my own. I really enjoyed the first two books. So, I have high hopes for this one.

This morning I finished Handling the Undead by John Ajvide Lindqvist. As I stated in last weeks post, this was a whole new take on the Zombie phenomena.

Imagine if you recently lost a loved one. You are grieving and then you get the news that your husband/wife/child is inexplicably “alive”. But, not really “alive”…but among the “reliving”. How would you handle it? What would you feel? This is the zombie scenario that Lindqvist runs with. Hang on, it’s gonna be an emotional ride!

The Daily Mirror (UK) stated that “Lindqvist is Sweden’s answer to Stephen King”. I would agree with that assessment. Both are excellent storytellers and both have a way of getting you inside the story. I have written before about how Stephen King is not “Wes Craven, dripping blood, jump in your face” scary. But, rather he is “bear-hug-your-psyche-until-you-squirm” unnerving. If his stories keep you up at night, it’s going be because you can’t evict him from your brain rather than because the tree branch scraping on your window brings to mind an evil clown under your bed.

Lindqvist is the same way. I found myself thinking about what I would do if a recently deceased loved one came walking through my door. (Not that I have lost anyone recently, thank God!) But, how would I ‘Handle the Undead’? Would I do everything I could to help them or would I lock them in a room and call the authorities? Would their presence be warming or repulsive? (Note: some of the characters in the book had been in the ground for a couple of months…see what I mean? This is the kind of thing that isn’t Freddy Kruger scary, but it kinda has the “eww” factor.)

It was another great book by Lindqvist. I will recommend it to everyone. The last page of the book introduced his next (out in 2011) book, titled “Harbor”. I’m gonna keep an eye out for it.

Lastly, what I am going to read next. Since, I just cracked the cover on Allegiant, I have no idea. I’ll let ya know next week. 😉

Have a great week!

About Paul H-C

Just an avid reader in the little town of Bangor, Maine (Yes, that Bangor...home of Stephen King). When I'm not reading and drinking coffee, I sell cell phones by the sea shore.
This entry was posted in blogging., Books, Reading, Reading Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to WWW Wednesday (October 30)

  1. Elizabeth says:

    ENJOY your reads.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My W…W…W…

What do you think?

