WWW Wednesday (1-26-14) [Because I just couldn’t make it happen on 1-22-14]

WWW Wednesday 1-26-14“Science is the new Rock ‘n’ Roll” – in Nowhere Men by Eric Stephenson.

W…W…W…Wednesdays is a weekly reading prompt hosted by MizB at Should be Reading. 

TO PLAY ALONG, JUST ANSWER THE FOLLOWING THREE (3) QUESTIONS:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll read next?

Now, on with this weeks W… W… W… Wednesday.

I am currently reading The Dead in Their Vaulted Arches by Alan Bradley. It seemed like we waited forever for the new Flavia De Luce novel. In reality, it’s only been a little under a year since Speaking from Among the Bones was published (January 29, 2013). Flavia is almost 12 years old and shows, once again, that she is wise beyond her years. I’d forgotten how Speaking from Among the Bones ended so the beginning of this book took me by surprise.

Since my last post, I have finished:

  • Takedown Twenty by Janet Evanovich. I laugh through the Stephanie Plum books every time! Between Stephanie’s constant bad luck with cars to Lula’s dietary habits to Grandma Mazur’s antics, I don’t think there is a single page that doesn’t at least make you chuckle. Even Stephanie’s father, who I think has had, MAYBE, 10 lines of dialogue in the 20 books, cracks me up.
  • Fables: Animal Farm by Bill Willingham. The second volume of this graphic novel series is a retelling of the George Orwell classic using the animal characters from classic fairy tales. It’s a new graphic novel series for me and one I will probably read fairly often. The illustrations are well done and the recasting of the characters is interesting and well thought out.
  • Seaworthy by Linda Greenlaw. This is the true story of Greenlaw’s brush with the law — in the form of the Canadian Department Fisheries. It’s a honest, and sometimes raw, look at the emotions behind wanting to do what you love and having fate/karma/kismet or whatever dogging you at every step. The book made me want to see the Discovery Channel reality show Swords: Life on the Line. Alas, Netflix doesn’t stock it…grrrrr!!!!
  • Nowhere Men by Eric Stephenson. This was one graphic novel series that I had high hopes for. It didn’t live up to them. Honestly, the newspaper/magazine “articles” included were yawn inducing and didn’t add much to the mix. They almost seemed like an excuse to save money on additional illustration work. I also didn’t find any characters to really love or hate and the ending didn’t leave me wanting for more. I won’t spend any more money on this series.
  • Phantom Prey by John Sandford. Only a few pages in, I knew I had already read this book. I was devouring the Prey series at one point and I think this was the last one I read before switching to Sandford’s Virgil Flowers series. So, I did something I don’t normally do — I reread it. Once a few details were filled in, the “who-done-it” factor was gone. But, I really like the team Sandford has created in his Minnesota BCA world. So, I still enjoyed the time I spent reading it.

I have no idea what is going to be my next book. It’ll probably be something from the Catch Up Reading Challenge 2014 list. I guess I will have to let you know on Wednesday the 29th. In the meantime, I’ll let you enjoy a picture of Stu the Reading Capybara with one of my books from today’s post….

Stu the Reading Capybara with John Sandford's Phantom Prey

Stu the Reading Capybara with John Sandford’s Phantom Prey

About Paul H-C

Just an avid reader in the little town of Bangor, Maine (Yes, that Bangor...home of Stephen King). When I'm not reading and drinking coffee, I sell cell phones by the sea shore.
This entry was posted in blogging., Books, Graphic Novel, Reading, Reading Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

